I hope that no one has to face a family crisis, but sadly everyone will. We all have gone or will go through a family crisis and it creates and molds the family. It will help us to some together and will teach us things that we might not have learned unless we have gone through it.
As a parent you should use a crisis as a teaching tool for your children. I remember when I was 6 years old my family and friends were all getting ready to go to the public swimming pool and then my mom got a phone call from one of her siblings. They told her that my grandma had a stroke and had passed away. As a little kid who was 6 I didn't know my grandmother that well because she lived in Utah and we lived in Illinois, but i did know who she was. I had few memories of her and I still have those memories. When my mom hung up the phone she asked everyone to come into her room and we all knelt around the bed and prayed for comfort and peace. Suddenly I didn't feel shocked or sad anymore, but I felt okay about what had just happened. I knew right then that it was her time to go and that it was part of Heavenly Father's plan.
Now if my parents hadn't taught me as a little child that my grandma was watching over and protecting my house while I was growing up I might've forgotten her. But I will never forget her because she was my favorite grandparent. She and I had the same birthday and I had her name as my middle name. My mom is one of 14 children and my grandma knew everyone's birthdays. All the grand kids and great grand kids too, but no one had the same birthday. At a little age I felt a close bond with my grandma and I can still feel that bond today.
I know that she is not physically here, but spiritually she is and as a child I was able to understand this. This "family crisis" changed and molded our family. It really brought us together and I am so grateful for the experiences that Heavenly Father gives me in this life! :) These are my mom's parents. Both are passed away now, but because of them I can pass on the Kimball name and traditions.
Picture



Leave a Reply.

    Cherise Dahle

    I am 20 and am attending BYU-Idaho. I love my husband Karl very much. My most favorite thing to do is spend time with my huge and wonderful family!

    RSS Feed