This week in my family relations class we talked a lot about fidelity in marriage and the importance of that "oneness" between husband and wife. We also discussed about what we should do when the time comes to teach our children about intimacy in marriage.
The best way I can put this is that every child will be different and some children may want to learn from their siblings and that's ok, but make sure they have all their facts straight and that they understand your values as a family. I find that it is MOST important to express the values and appropriateness so you children don't wonder or have questions.
My favorite part about class this week was when my teacher told this story about him and his dad. His dad went up to him one day and said, "I guess it's time we should talk about the birds and the bees." And my teacher said his response as a boy was, "Ok dad, what do you want to know about it?" This seems funny in the beginning, but if your children are not learning about these things from you, then they will find another source and most likely that other source will not have the same standards as you and may put it in the wrong context.
I have always known that it's appropriate for my kids to be knowledgeable in case situations may arise, but you don't want to teach them too early or too young. As I said earlier, each child is different. Watch for the signs and have an open relationship with them so they are willing to ask you questions and you don't make them feel awkward or embarrassed for asking. I know that I'm not perfect and I will not be a perfect mom, but if I plan what I will do in the future I won't have to question myself when the time comes.
Teach your children correct truths and they will have to make the choice to follow that path on their own.  
Alie Morgan
3/10/2011 11:56:43 am

This one as a parent is very hard. I have tried talking to my 13 year old but she doesn't really want to talk. So, at this point my husband and I just tell her that boys will lie and they don't really mean that they love her when they are young. We say wait until marriage to do what they ask. I guess I should really force her to have the talk so I know what she already knows. I'm sure she will just groan and roll her eyes at me. Just wait Cherise you'll know what I mean!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Cherise Dahle

    I am 20 and am attending BYU-Idaho. I love my husband Karl very much. My most favorite thing to do is spend time with my huge and wonderful family!

    RSS Feed