There are 4 types of love: Storge, Philia, Eros, and Agape. Storge is the love between a parent and child. It's that special bond, closeness, commitment, and obligation you have for one another. Philia is the friendship love. That's why Philadelphia was names after it. Eros is the romantic love, infatuation, or a longing to be with one another. And last but not least is Agape which is the Christian type love. You have this love when you realize that a person is a child of God and because of that fact you are willing to whatever for that person.
In my class we talked about the fact that Charity, which is the pure love of Christ, fits within all of the these categories. Actually no, I switch that...All of these categories fit under Charity. I love that fact because in a marriage we want to do all we can to have Charity for our spouse and love them for everything that they are. If we are to treat them with Charity then we must love them in all of these ways. We must have a bond with them, be a friend with them, have a romantic passion for them, and love and do service for them because they are a child of our Heavenly Father. I know that I have expressed my love to my husband in all of these categories, and I hope that it is that way with all marriages. That's how we can stay together and stay strong.
I love my husband, Karl, so much and what better way to show it than to express it in two days on Valentine's Day! We should really be expressing all these types of "love" everyday, but why not make a special effort on Valentine's Day. Do service for your loved one, hold their hand, spend time with them, make them a gift from your talent, and tell them "I LOVE YOU!" These are part of the 5 languages of love, so share your love!!!!

PS these are the kissing rocks in Wyoming. You should go there some time! As you drive by you see the big Indian nose getting closer to the other rock. When my family would drive to Utah we would pass these every year! I love it!
Happy Valentine's Day everyone!!!
Picture
Janette
2/13/2011 08:37:20 am

I love (pun intended) that love can expand and grow. There is no finite level that says, "Oh, you can't love anyone else. You've reached your limit." With each additional child my heart has grown and swelled to what seems like bursting, and yet there is room again.

Reply
Alie Morgan
3/10/2011 11:50:25 am

I had never really thought about some of the things you said. Sometimes living your spouse can be really hard and sometimes you really have to use charity to love them. ;) I never really knew what it meant to be loved by a man until I met my husband. I was married for 9 years to my children's father and I don't think I ever felt love like I do know. Between Jamie and I we also have philia which has made it that much more amazing. I love spending time with him and just being together. What great ideas you have for expressing that love!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Cherise Dahle

    I am 20 and am attending BYU-Idaho. I love my husband Karl very much. My most favorite thing to do is spend time with my huge and wonderful family!

    RSS Feed