One thing I learned this week in my family class is that you need to live intentionally. You need to be an active parent and, if you are not married, an active dater. I know that sounds weird, but let me explain. In order to live intentionally you must plan for things to happen. For example, an active parent would expect their child to do something, and instead of letting it happen they must prevent it. Within dating one must be obvious and not let others guess what you are like. Make sure that the person you are dating knows your intentions and you're not wasting any time. If both of you are dating just to date, then it's good, but let each other know that. If one just wants to date and the other is looking for something more and the other is not, then communicate and make sure you both know where it's going. I know this sounds obvious, but there are so many people that play "hard to get' or try to get the other to guess what they are thinking. No one will take you seriously if you do not take yourself serious.
You must act now. Don't hold things back. As a parent teach your children what they need to know instead of waiting for them to figure it out. If you wait, then they might discover it for themselves or through friends from school. It could be about anything, and you may not want them to learn about it from those other sources. Teach them now.
The point with dating is that you both have to treat each other equally and be selfless. But, please continue this selflessness in marriage.
Be prepared for anything and everything. I know that's hard, but at least try.



Leave a Reply.

    Cherise Dahle

    I am 20 and am attending BYU-Idaho. I love my husband Karl very much. My most favorite thing to do is spend time with my huge and wonderful family!

    RSS Feed