This week in my class we talked about Active Parenting. Active Parenting is responding to your child as if you were to expect them to act out. For example, my nephew sucks his thumb, and if you were his parent and wanted him to stop you might put gross stuff on it so he'll stop or you might give him a pacifier to suck on instead. Well, an active parent would find out why he sucks his thumb, and they don't think that he does it just because he likes it. So, that's exactly what my sister-in-law did. She went to the chiropractor and he checked my nephew's vitals. Turns out, he sucks his thumb because he has an iron deficiency. Now that my sister-in-law knows how to fix it she can, and eventually my nephew won't need to suck his thumb anymore.
Being an active parent is so helpful for the parent and the child. It teaches you how to understand what the child is going through and helps you to not be so frustrated by all the crazy things your child does. I firmly believe that everything a child does has a reason behind it. Once the parent finds out that need/reason the parent and child will be happy. If you want to know more about Active Parenting, google it. You'll be able to understand so much more.
Now this is what could happen if you weren't careful with your kids.....haha just kidding. This is my sister. She's on a mission in the Philippines.
Picture
Janette
3/28/2011 11:56:30 pm

It is definitely more difficult to parent actively. Each child is different and responds differently, so even discovering what the real problem is can require quite the detective work. However, I have found that resolving the base issues really does help clear up some of the behaviors. It is a continual process and works as well as the diligence parents give it.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Cherise Dahle

    I am 20 and am attending BYU-Idaho. I love my husband Karl very much. My most favorite thing to do is spend time with my huge and wonderful family!

    RSS Feed